23
Jul
09

US unemployment system a disaster

wow, they’re running on COBOL!

yikes.

While the strained program still makes more than 80 percent of initial payments within three weeks — slightly below the standard set under federal law — cases that require individual review are especially prone to delay. Thirty-eight states are failing to make those decisions within the federal deadline.

For workers who survive a paycheck at a time, even a week’s delay can mean a missed rent payment or foregone meals.

Kenneth Kottwitz, a laid-off cabinet maker in Phoenix, waited three months for his benefits to arrive. He exhausted his savings, lost his apartment and moved to a homeless shelter.

Luis Coronel, a janitor at a San Francisco hotel, got $6,000 in back benefits after winning an appeal. But in the six months he spent waiting, there were times when he and his pregnant wife could not afford to eat.

“I was terrified my wife and daughter would have to live on the street,” Mr. Coronel said.

feeling lucky i have a job.

unbelievable, how most people are treated in this country, if they’re not wealthy.


3 Responses to “US unemployment system a disaster”


  1. 1 Nancy
    July 26, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    You should feel lucky…..I sure as hell do!

    When I lost 2 out of 3 jobs this past spring, I was terrified that I was one step away from being homeless. I still had my part-time Home Depot job, but a part-time position there is a nightmare during the off-season when they cut your hours down to literally nothing. Just imagining a 6 hr. work week had me thinking that unemployment might be a better deal…but the mere thought of that was throwing me into panic attacks. I begged…pleaded…my store mgr. to give me full-time status (which protects your 40 hr. work week) so I could pay my bills and feed my kids. I cried in his office and called him at work on my days off in desperation. Finally after 3 really long and harrowing weeks, he granted me full-time status on his last day in our shop (he was transfered to a new store). I felt like I’d just gotten a friggin’ presidential pardon! I am now eternally grateful for this incredibly stressful retail job that is killing my hips, knees and feet because I walk (limp) such a fine line in the here and now. Sux…..

  2. 2 underpass
    July 26, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    jesus nancy, i didn’t know things were so tight for you.

    i’ll help out when i can.

    susan just started food stamps last week, and we’re getting by but not by much. got some help from catholic social services too.

  3. 3 Nancy
    July 26, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    Not looking for handouts, but thanks anyway. Just sayin’ how much it sux in the Garden State these days. Too damn expensive…probably thanks to all of our corrupt politicians et al. Wonder if I could sell a kidney for alittle extra cash…hmmm? Hey! Think I’ve linked your 2 latest posts! ;]


Leave a comment


July 2009
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031